Archive | 1:01 am

The Innkeepers

25 Jan

the_innkeepers
The Inn Keepers | 2012 | Director: Ti West | Site | IMDB
his_3_star_rating
The Inn Keepers is the story of the final weekend of the Yankee Pedlar Inn, where two employees are determined to discover if the hotel is haunted. I enjoyed this film but was left feeling a little let down. I enjoyed the director Ti West’s first film, House of the Devil, a great deal. Having built a lot anticipation for his next film I blame myself for being slightly disappointed. The two main characters in the film are great but that is where I felt my biggest disappointment. I wanted more from them. I wanted more of their story either backstory or interactions. There are some good scares and the film has great atmosphere. It’s a good old fashion scary story reminiscent of the Shining or Poltergeist. The director, Ti West, and the crew actually stayed at the Inn in the movie while filming House of the Devil where they experienced some unexplained phenomenon. I got the impression the film was slightly autobiographical which in turn made me like it more in hindsight. Definitely worth seeing, an all around good creepy film.

hers_3_stars
In the last weekend of the Yankee Pedlar Inn being open, two of the employees set out to prove it is haunted. This is the second film from the director of House of the Devil, Ti West. I feel like this movie could have been so much more. The acting just missed the mark and was very awkward. After learning how West came up with the idea to make the movie it made me enjoy it more and essentially give it a higher rating than I originally had. If you like Ghost hunting shows or just like haunted hotels definitely give this movie a watch. There is a twist at the end you may or may not see coming.


The Innkeepers Trailer